Movie Scenes my Kid Imitates

“It’s time to let go! Mommy, it’s time to let go!” The first time I heard this coming from the back seat of the car I couldn’t figure out why V was saying it. I quickly found out: the suction cup on the corner of her sun shade had come off and she was pulling on it. Many weeks followed of me telling her to stop it, and her repeating this phrase. She wouldn’t let go until she’d said it. The way she said it was pretty dramatic as well. Then one day it hit me. She was quoting Dory from Finding Nemo.

let go

Martin always had trouble letting go.

As V’s attention span has improved, we’ve begun watching more movies. She watches something every morning. This allows me to sleep in longer if she wakes up super early and lets me cook breakfast unhindered. There are downsides though. Imitation is one of them. You never know what scene your kid is going to mentally latch onto and imitate. Some things are innocuous; others not so much.

Thanks to The Jungle Book, V thinks that this is an appropriate way to wake people up:

mogwi

Bagheera getting slapped out of a trance.

Not that people have to be asleep for her to do this. Usually she tries to do it to me when I’m helping her go potty in the morning. No matter how many times I try to get her to pat me on the shoulders instead, she always goes for the face first.

My Neighbor Totoro is an awesome movie. If you haven’t watched it with your kids you should definitely give it a try. I was surprised it managed to hold V’s attention, but it did. For two weeks straight that was all she wanted to watch. Most of the movie is just kids being kids- exploring, playing, etc. The only downside was that she picked up a phrase she didn’t know before.

not fair

“It’s not fair!”

 

Yes, that phrase. One morning she woke up and just said it repeatedly for like 30 minutes. Thankfully, she didn’t seem to understand how to use it in context, so she has stopped using it (for now).

The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh was a favorite for a while. V cackled when Pooh fell down the tree, and she decided to reenact one particular scene with her brother.

pooh pulling

This one.

It wasn’t too bad. He was crawling on the floor and she grabbed on to the back of his onesie. Every time they pulled on-screen, she would tug his onesie. I have a picture somewhere but couldn’t find it.

If I ever need V to burn off some energy all I have to do is put on the stampede scene from The Lion King.

stampede

She will run from the couch all the way down the hall and back every time she sees the wildebeests run.

Another scene from The Lion King also had an impact. Simba has just been reunited with his old friend Nala. The two are talking so excitedly that they completely ignore Timon and Pumbaa. Timon gets pissed, walks up between them and yells, “What’s going on here?!”

lion king1

Can you guess when V imitates this? Of course it’s when my husband and I are talking. As annoying as it is, I do have to admire how well this matches her life. Timon is this tiny creature dwarfed by the two lions; my daughter is a 2.5 year old who is dwarfed by her parents. My husband and I get so little time together that we do tend to tune out to the kids any chance we get to converse. She must feel just like Timon.

lion king2

Although I’m not sure which is more annoying- the “What’s going on here?!” or her previous “Mommy, don’t talk to Daddy! Talk to V!”

So I guess the lesson in all this would be that kids will find the worst scene in a movie to imitate, though it probably won’t be the one you think.

 

Leave a Reply

