Weaning and Waking

With kid number 2 on the way I was getting concerned about weaning V. It’s not like I was “feeding” per se, but she was definitely still attached to the boobs. Every night I’d feed her at 5-5:30 and put her down at 7:00. Every morning she’d wake up at 5:00 or 6:00. The only way I could get her to “sleep in” was to bring her to bed with me once she woke up and nurse her back to sleep for an hour or two. That was the real problem. Weaning completely would mean giving up those precious few extra hours of sleep every morning.

It seemed like she was waking up approximately 12 hours after she’d eaten last, so I decided to try offering an additional snack before bedtime. After a few nights of offering banana at 6:30 and I was able to get her to sleep in until 6:00-6:30 am. I started just getting up when she got up. No going back to bed and nursing. She’s been off the boob for over a week now.

This morning she woke up at 5:20 am. Both she and my husband are sick with a cold, and her appetite hasn’t been great. No late snacks lately- heck, she’s ready to pass out at 6pm! Because she woke up so early I decided to try bringing her to our bed without nursing. She pitched a fit and pawed at my chest. Sleeping with Mommy meant boobs! So I sat up in bed and stroked her until she calmed down, then we laid back down. It half worked. She didn’t complain, but without nursing she wouldn’t go back to sleep either.  At 5:40 she’d had enough and we had to get up.

Do I miss it? Not really. It was getting to the point where she was using me as a pacifier more than anything else. I miss the closeness, but I’d much rather just snuggle now than nurse.

Leave a Reply

